Kick it: What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Standard

I don’t know about you but the first thing I did when I saw the newest Daily Prompt was break into song…(clears throat)…”I went skyyyyyy diving, I went Rocky Mountain climbin’, I went two point seven seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu…”. Um now that I got my Tim McGraw out of me (Note: not a Country fan but I have an uncanny ability to remember lyrics, regardless of genre), we can move onto the topic at hand.

I really never have thought about my Bucket List since ya know I am only 32 and all. So this topic is new to me. I actually found it exciting to sit down and list out my Top 10 Bucket List items…and then list the 11th.  I think the first 10 are ones that I can potentially accomplish. But I would say the 11th may be unattainable. Here goes my Bucket List:

1) Attend a Duke Basketball game at Cameron Indoor Stadium.  I am a huge college Basketball fan, but an even bigger University of Kentucky basketball fan. I love my Wildcats and live and die with each win and loss (Note: great place to find all the news on UK sports is www.KentuckySportsRadio.com). So wanting to see a Duke basketball game might seem a little weird. But what I have been told it is an amazing experience. 

2) Write a book. I don’t have any topics in mind but I think it would be really fun to write a book. I recently got into historical fiction novels of Steve Berry. I think if I chose to write a book, it would mirror his writing style.

3) Run either a 5K; Half Marathon; Marathon; heck run at all. In my younger years I loved to run. I had to do it a lot for High School soccer. Now I don’t run. Every year I tell myself I will run a 5K. Maybe some day I will get around to it.

4) Travel through Europe. I’d love to have the time and money to travel throughout Europe, go England, Paris, Rome, Greece, Germany. But having 3 kids and a job kind of makes all that impossible. This may have to wait a bit.

5) Travel to Israel. I love History. I was a History major. Where else better to go than Israel?

6) Attend the Super Bowl. I don’t think I’d want to go unless my team was playing. My team is the Cincinnati Bengals. Depending on your view point, this may never happen.

7) Own a boat. I live about 5 miles from the “Mighty” Ohio River. I’d love to have a house boat or speed boat to relax on the weekend. I also would need lots of cash for this….

8) Bourbon trail. I also live in Kentucky, home of Bourbon. I am becoming kind of a Bourbon snob, but I have a whole lot to learn. Some day I am going to tour the various Bourbon distilleries in Kentucky.

9) Own a restaurant. One of my dreams is to own my own restaurant. My wife is a great cook. Whenever she cooks something that is awesome (all the time) I tell her it is going on the menu. She is never amused. 

10) Go to Alaska. I don’t have cable but I am obsessed with all the reality TV shows about Alaska. We have Netflix, so I get my fix of Ice Road Truckers/Gold Rush/Flying Alaska whenever I want. Still, there is something about Alaska. Seems beautiful. Seems pristine. I just want to go there….

and the last one is….

11) Climb Everest. Never going to happen. I am afraid of heights. I am also afraid of dying and being left on a Mountain. But I’d love to just have 5 minutes on the summit. Wouldn’t that be awesome?!?! Maybe a helicopter could fly me up there????

There it is, my Bucket List. Whats yours?

Leave a comment